GoStats web counter The Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund Annual Gala – NEO Magazine

The Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund Annual Gala

By on June 20, 2013

by Markos Papadatos

The 22nd annual Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund (HTSF) GALA was held this past May at the Marriott Marquis in New York City with great success. As of today, the HTSF has awarded over 850 scholarships totaling over $2 million.

This year, 36 scholarships were awarded to recipients from all over the country. The event commenced with a video telecast that featured such previous honorees as Ernie Anastos, Bob Costas, Mike Emanuel, Alexis Christoforous, Nick Gregory and a special cameo from Nia Vardalos (“My Big Fat Greek Wedding”). Special guests included Constantine Maroulis and Frank Dicopoulos. Nick Katsoris, the president of the Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund (HTSF) and author of the “Loukoumi” book series, made the opening remarks.

    Mr. George Sakellaris, the chairman and CEO of Ameresco, Inc., was honored with the prestigious “Leadership Humanitarian Award” that was presented by Mr. John Catsimatidis, the CEO of the Red Apple Group and publisher of the Hellenic Times. In his acceptance speech, Sakellaris remarked: “I am very blessed and thankful. We welcome all of our honored guests and scholarship recipients tonight. It’s an honor and a privilege to receive this award on behalf of the Hellenic Time Scholarship Fund. Thank you to the next mayor of New York,” he added referring to John Catsimatidis.

    Nick Katsoris introduced Margo Catsimatidis, the vice chair of the HTSF, as well as co-publisher of the Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund (HTSF) and president of MCV Advertising, as a “woman whose amazing spirit is something to be emulated by all.” Margo presented the scholarships to this year’s recipients. Anjelika Vayas was awarded the top Hellenic Times scholarship in the amount of $20,000.

    The event also featured musical performances from JT Taylor, formerly of Kool and The Gang, a group that is best-known for their smash hit “Celebration,” as well as ALPHA Orchestra which included Katerina Topazi and Thanos Tsiovas.

    According to Joanna Kotrotsios, a 2013 HTSF honoree, “this award feels amazing. I am so excited to be here and congratulations to all of the other honorees as well.”

    For more information on the Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund, those interested can visit their official website www.htsf.org.

    About NEO Magazine

    NEO Magazine. Established 2005. NEO Magazine is published monthly in New York by Neocorp Media Inc.